On occasion you may wish to remove a member from an Active discussion board - they may not wish to participate anymore, or they need to be removed for other reasons.
Once the board has started the connection between the board and the member panel is closed off! This is to protect the integrity of the data and to make sure that members (including participants, observers and moderators) removed from a Project list are not accidentally deleted from an Active discussion board.
To remove a participant from your active discussion:
- Go to your discussion board.
- Go into the Participants section by clicking on the Participants tab in the manage area for your board.
- Find the individual you wish to remove, go the actions column and select the "Ban" button for that individual.
- You will be asked to confirm the removal.
- Select the Ban Participant button.
- This action will then place them in the Banned Participants list.
- While being banned the participant will no longer receive emails about the discussion, and they will not be able to log-in to participate in the discussion.
- The system will send them this automated message:
Email Subject: Removed from [The name of your board will appear here].
Hi <first name will appear here>
This is to let you know you have been removed from the discussion group, <The name of your board will appear here>.
If you are reinstated you will receive another email informing you of the reinstatement.
To reinstate a member to an Active board
- Go to the Banned Participants table and find the individual.
- Go to the Actions column and select the Reinstate button
- You will be asked to confirm the reinstatement
- Select the reinstate button.
- The participant will be added back in the group.
- They will now be able to log-in and will once again start to receive group emails.