How to add participants to the discussion board Before and After the board has started.
Adding members BEFORE your discussion board has started
Members are added to your board by selecting a Project list in step one of the board creation process. You can edit the Project list at anytime, but once you discussion board has started you can no longer add or edit participants from the Panel manager.
To find out more about how to add a project list to your board please review the section on discussion board project list selection.
Please note: When making changes to the project list in your panel manager you will need to refresh the project list in your Draft board. You can do this by clicking on the Fetch list button next to your project list. If you choose a new project list the participants in that list will be updated automatically.
Adding members AFTER the discussion board has started
Once the discussion board has started the project list is closed off and this means you can NOT add additional members to your board or edit their details by editing the original project list.
Why we close of the project list connection once the board has started?
This is done to protect the integrity of the participant data once the board has started. It also provides another layer of data security, as the board becomes its own secure entity once you start collecting the data.
To add new participants to your discussion board once you have started.
You will need to go into the Participants section by clicking on the Participants tab.
In this section you can add new members to your board one at a time, or edit existing member details.
Adding a new board member once the board has begun
- Select the Add participant button.
- Complete the participant details in the fields provided.
- Choose to send the invitation when saving.
- The new member is now able to access the board
Editing a board member once the board has begun
- Find the member you wish to edit.
- Go to the Actions column and select edit.
- The edit window will appear.
- Edit the participant details and save as required.